concave mirror in a facility for single crystal growth

External Bodies

General Meeting: The General Meeting comprises the members of the IFW Dresden e.V. and promoting Members. It sends delegates to the board of trustees and decides on the statute of the association.

Board of trustees: The board of trustees decides on all fundamental issues of the institute. It is composed of representatives of the Federal Republic of Germany, representatives of the Free State of Saxony,  a member of the association elected by the General Meeting and an expert elected by the General Meeting. The head is Dr. Babett Gläser, Saxon State Ministry for Higher Education, Research and the Fine Arts.

Scientific Advisory Board: The scientific advisory board advises the board of trustees and the board of directors on important scientific, technical and organizational questions. It evaluates the research program and achievements and work schedules of the association periodically - usually within three years.

Members of the Scientific Advisors Board:

  • Prof. Dr. Mark Golden, Univ. Amsterdam (Chair)
  •  Prof. Dr. Robert H. Blick, Univ. Hamburg                              
  • Prof. Dr. Andrey Chubukov, Univ. of Minnesota    
  • Prof. Dr. Roberto De Renzi, Univ. of Parma             
  • Prof. Dr. Judith Driscoll, Univ. of Cambridge     
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Hahn, KIT Karlsruhe                  
  • Prof. Dr. David Johnson, Univ. of Oregon                             
  • Prof. Dr. Heinz Neubert, Siemens AG                                    
  • Prof. Dr. Nini Pryds, TU Denmark                                             
  • Dr. Jürgen Rapp, Robert Bosch GmbH
  • Prof. Dr. Maria-Roser Valenti, Univ. Frankfurt                    
  • Prof. Dr. Artur Zrenner, Univ. Paderborn

Internal bodies

Executive Board: The Executive Board is charged with the conduct and management of the affairs of the Institute. It consists of the Scientific Director and spokesman, (Prof. Dr. Bernd Büchner, from April 1, 2018) and the Administrative Director (Juliane Schmidt).

Board of Directors: The Board of Directors consists of the Executive Board and of the directors of the IFW's Institutes. The Board of Directors is headed by the Scientific Director.

Labor Council: The Labor Council acts as a representative of the people employed within the institute. The head is Hans-Joachim Grafe.  

Scientific-Technical Council: The Scientific-Technical Council (WTR) advises the Board of Directors in scientific and scientific-technical matters, in particular with regard to:

  • the research program
  • the structure of scientific and technical organizational units
  • R & D investments
  • principles for permanent employment
  • principles of internal evaluation and success assessment
  • strategies for publication and exploitation of research results
  • the annual report
  • the appointment of scientific management staff
  • the awarding of prizes for scientific achievements

Since December 2015, the WTR consists of exclusively elected representatives of the scientific and technical staff of the IFW Dresden. Each of the five IFW institutes should be represented by max. two members and the Research-Technology Division by max. one member.

Members of the WTR are:

  • Dr. Heiko Reith (chairman)
  • Dr. Ulrich Rößler (1st deputy)
  • Dr. Annett Gebert (2nd deputy)
  • Dr. Caspar Hopfmann
  • Dr. Barbara Leszczynska
  • Dr. Volker Neu
  • Dr. Hagen Schmidt
  • Dr. Silvia Seiro
  • Herr Dr.-Ing. Ralf Voigtländer